Riding the Lightening

The move to Korea is happening at lightening speed. Since July I have been entertaining the idea of going to Korea. By August I had convinced Wyll and soon after we talked with our employers about leaving the farm. Mid-August we started applying to jobs in Korea. In actuality we applied to six jobs and another six jobs the following week. We received responses from two agencies. Both were very nice. Pam from VOU Agency was both helpful and pushy. I like her. She gave suggestions on how to make thing go quicker and really wanted us there sooner rather than…sometime. Her saving Grace was our Director Grace Kim. We got a great feeling from her. She was relaxed and didn’t seem to mind the Oct 1st date. Pam is really excellent and once she knew the Director’s position she relaxed a little too. Pam has been very helpful getting the contract perfect for us, recommending companies for document expediting, really transcending the communication boundaries. I understand that we were difficult and bossy at times I think she handled us really well. I feel like light was shed on everything. We spoke with a teacher working with the same chain. We have seen pictures of housing and the school. We really scrutinized the contract and maybe even offended her at times. She was a great sport. We have been riding the lightening.

 

The last two days Wyll has been too excited to work on his game though some progress has been made. Cro-Magnon Wars or Neander-Dome (as I will start calling it) is heading into the final stages. Play tests will be held hopefully twice before we leave. There is also hope for a week of design work in Santa Cruz and a short film of a play test in the bay area. These are the main things Wyll wants to do before we leave. 

I am bummed that I will miss out on canning this month. Luckily November is Kimchi season so I just have to make some exceptional friends and I’ll be canning with the best of them! On the short list I have to sell/ rid myself of the Washington cars. This might prove to be easy in that I’m creaming one and selling the other to one of the guys at the farm. Yay! I feel like the best way to get rid of things is to pack for Korea then donate everything else. Obviously there are some big ticket items that need to find homes Wyll’s dresser, desk and bookshelf. 

On another list I would like to have a 파티 멀리가는 (pronounced pati meolliganeun) or in English a going away party. There is also the fantasy of a road trip to Reno for Wyll’s family and Southern California for us both. This seems less likely but you never know. I would really like to see my grandparents and put my hand on Bonni’s belly. 

Leave a Reply

