Kabocha Squash Soup

If I learned anything last year (2011) it was making soup. While I was working at Bloomfield Farms, I had mountains of produce to play around with. I ventured into all sorts of veggie dishes from stir frying to soups. One of my favorites is a squash soup that uses lime and cashews. You can find the recipe here. When I saw the squash at the market (and with the help of the recent snow) I thought SOUP!

It might have been easy to create the same soup again, however I like a challenge so I set off to create lunch in under an hour with only the thing we already had in the house.

Total ingredients include:

3 baby Kabocha Squash- cut in half, with the insides scooped out

2 yellow onions – one quartered, one chopped small

1 apple- chopped small, with peel, without seeds and core

handful of peeled garlic cloves

salt, cayenne pepper, cinnamon, Bragg’s liquid aminos

Plenty of Water

First boil water with squash, quartered onion and salt. I was hoping to use boiling water for broth but I ended up throwing out the remaining onions and water. Once squash is soft and cooked put in bowl of cold water to help separate from peel. Put yummy goodness in bowl and set aside.

Do a quick rinse of your pot and fill 1/3 with water, in the vicinity of two quarts. As you bring to a boil add  chopped onion, apple, garlic, a dash of cinnamon, a dash of cayenne, and a squirt of Bragg’s probably 3 Tablespoons or less. Cover. Let it boil and cook all the veggies. When soft add squash and smash everything together. Enjoy hot!

Image

3 thoughts on “Kabocha Squash Soup

  1. I didn’t know you could just put the squash in water and boil it. That makes sense, but I just always put it in the oven and cook it. I’ll have to try this. I wonder if you could put it in the microwave with some water in a covered dish and cook it that way. The soup looks great. I’ll have to try it.

    • I bet you could. It was really good and smashing it with a spoon instead of blending it gave it a rustic touch. You got chunks of apples and bits of squash too! It was very good. I had hesitations about cooking it on the stove, but I remembered my mom making thxgvn pies that way. It was definitely an excellent experiment. ❤

Leave a Reply

