Foodie week

Today I’m coming to terms with my inner homesteader. I’ve always had a desire to be creative and have fun in the kitchen, but this week feels like all my secret hopes and wish have surfaced and I’m finally becoming a good person… ;P

20130430_215450

A very fancy dinner of nachos! All seasoning, salsa, cheese and sour cream is from the US or Seoul (a grueling four hour bus ride).

Life in Gochang is quiet. The days pass by quickly. Winter is over; we now turn our attention to Spring. Spring is setting the tone for a lovely hot summer. The apartment has already gotten amazingly hot. I’m happy to know that there is a pool in town… somewhere. Flowers are in bloom still- not cherries really but other flowers. Bees cover them in the hundreds. Like the bees, I am finding tons to do in the bread basket (barley basket? produce basket?) of South Korea.

20130428_133231

The coffee is from the lovely shop in Jeonju. Wyll is still raving about it

A few weeks back, I spent a Sunday afternoon making Strawberry jam. Without pectin it was quite the production. I cooked the berries at a rolling boil with half a lemon for over three hours. I did add some sugar, but not a lot. I had the jam with brie cheese and Korean crackers. I also discovered that it tastes amazing on cereal- Special K! I haven’t made any PBJs but the bread here is not great for them. Although a nearby store has started carrying cream cheese and that’s excellent on the crackers.

I recently received pickling spice from an online store. Wednesday this past week we had the day off and I used some of the time to make pickles. There are just fridge pickles and my expectations are low, but I’m proud of myself so far! It was so easy- finding the right kind of vinegar was maybe the hardest part. I’m not even sure it’s regular white vinegar- I guess I’ll know on Friday!

On Saturday, the boys came over. They are going to teach me how to play D&D. We created the world, team and quest. We built our characters for the game, there were gaps in activity so I also took the time to make YOGURT!!!!!!!!!!! I have been wanting to do this for a long time. Awhile back, I got a yogurt packet from High Street Market in Seoul. It was very easy you mix a packet with water in a tupperware. The tupperware goes into a bowl with boiling water which luckily has a lid. It wasn’t very insulated so I had to replace the water once, but in the morning there was yogurt!

I’d like to take this moment to say YES! I have SKILLZ!!!!!!!

20130506_215226

This is the curry with cilantro rice and yogurt! What a treat!

Between making the yogurt and building my D&D character. We got a little hungry and went out for food. This restaurant like many Korean restaurants have burners on the table. We sat on a heated floor while others sat at western style tables. A giant cast iron skillet was brought to the table. It had several layers. The bottom layer was water then cabbage, duk (pronounced dOh) and raw chicken, red pepper paste and sesame leaves. It was very yummy. I’m glad the boys said cho-gum (a little) for the spice level, it was still very spicy.

20130504_215439 Wyll and the beginning of a delicious meal!  It was too anticipated for after cooked photographs. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Foodie week

  1. You have always been a good person, my dear! Sounds like a wonderful week. I am very proud of you for finding ways to make the stuff that you otherwise can’t get your hands on. Good job. I’ll have to make yogurt sometime. I was just thinking about making my own cheese the other day. I learned how to make fresh cheese at the Sonoma County Artisan Cheese Festival a few years back. You just bring a gallon of whole milk to a boil, turn off the heat, add a tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice and let it separate into curds and whey. You then pour off the whey (which you can drink when it cools) and let the curds go into some cheese cloth. Hang the cheese cloth from a couple of wooden spoons to drain, and within an hour, you have delicious fresh cheese. It’s great drizzled with a little honey.

    I love hearing about your adventures. Can’t wait to hear more about them in person, though. 🙂

    • I want to make cheese so bad. Most of the cheese here is really processed and not very tasty. The yogurt was so easy. The complicated part was getting the cultures. Now that I have some good yogurt, my understanding is that I can regenerate it by adding milk and putting it in hot water for eight hours. I think about you often when I cook. You are an inspiring woman! I’m excited to hear about your adventures in person too. I think this part (Korea) of our lives will pass quickly- we’ve already been here seven months! ❤

Leave a Reply

