Mulberry Jam

After returning from a recent trip to Seoul, my Halmonie (my boss’ mom), sent over a largish box of mulberries. After stuffing ourselves on them, there was still several left in the box. We were out of jam and syrup so I thought I’d try to make pectin-less jam- if it didn’t work out we could have it on pancakes! This was a fairly simple recipe with some delicious results. The main factor was having a lot of time to not really watch it but be in the house while it cooked. I’ve tried it with other berries and not been successful.

About 3 pints of berries (no stems)

1/4 cup sugar

3 Tablespoons Lemon juice

I started by heating up the pan and throwing berries in. Then I mashed up the berries added the sugar and lemon. I let it cook for 6 hours; stirring sometimes. I cooked it on the lowest setting possible.

It probably ended up to be about half a quart…

I canned it and put it in the fridge.

mulberry jam and yogurt

mulberry jam and yogurt

One thought on “Mulberry Jam

  1. I have never made jam.
    Mostly because i dont have them as often.
    But i could pass it on to my cousin who has some everyday on toast.
    Thanks 🙂

    Also,i hav an invite for us all.it’s a #WeeklyChallenge for #FoodBlogger to encourage genuine blog appreciation (not just empty likes).
    Please visit http://wp.me/p6c369-10 to participate & know more.
    I hope we get together and do some pleasant reading n blogging!

Leave a Reply

