Happy Peppero Day

So yesterday was Peppero day, one of the many silly holidays in South Korea. Well, I think they are silly anyway, but who am I to talk? The United States has an entire month dedicated to ice cream. I participate in Peppero day every year. I think it’s a fun way to interact with students almost as fun as Halloween. There may not be any dressing up but everyone is eating cookies and in good spirits. The holiday has only been celebrated for 15 years. One of my adult students told me that it wasn’t around when he was in elementary school but by the time he was in high school it was a very popular holiday. He also told me that it is for children and that he had never received a Peppero gift because he didn’t have a girlfriend in high school. I tried to convey that Peppero day is no longer a couples holiday. It is now more like Halloween even though it may have started off closer to Valentine’s day.

Another student delighted me by explaining that 11/11 is a day for tall people to give food to short people to help them grow taller. My youngest students inquired for the pencils, pens, colored pencils, flutes, wands, and long rice cakes I was also giving to them. Apparently anything that looks like a ‘1’ can be given as a gift, I had never heard that. I gave all my students Pepperos and then old students stopped by to eat some as well. I was also given some but they didn’t last long!

Happy Peppero day! May you grow as tall as the Summer days are long. 🙂IMG_1916

2 thoughts on “Happy Peppero Day

Leave a Reply

